MEDITATION: The Awareness Express!

A Mindful Journey in Everyday Moments

MEDITATION

The Awareness Express:
A Mindful Journey in Everyday Moments
Writer: Eddie Van Dongen

When I first started meditating, I had this idea that I would have to empty my mind, sit in silence, and achieve a state of complete emptiness. Meditation, in my mind, was all about sitting still, resembling a monk with a shaved head and an orange robe.

Excited The Moment GIF by Sherchle

Gif by sherchle on Giphy

That was my 'image' of meditation. So, I began with a prejudice, a preconceived notion, a mental picture.
Ever been there? Starting something new with a fully formed expectation of how it will unfold? It's like creating an entire movie set in your mind with actors demonstrating how it's supposed to work.

And then there I am, on a cushion, following a guided meditation. following all the instructions, only to discover that it's not going as expected—my thoughts just won't stop. I follow the guidance, and after the first session, I'm pretty confused.

Tired Illustration GIF

Gif by jojofalkillustration on Giphy

Can't I clear my mind? Can't I stop my thoughts? What now?

Meditation isn't about 'clearing out.' No, it's about 'noticing.' Noticing when your thoughts wander, noticing when you're distracted, noticing when your attention is somewhere other than the conversation I'm having with my best friend at this moment. 'Sorry, what did you say?'

But if meditation, or mindfulness in this case, is essentially just 'noticing,' then can't I do that anywhere? Do I really need to sit on a cushion in dead silence? Besides, I don't have time for that! I have way more things to do than spending half an hour on a cushion in my purple dress (I don't have an orange one).

Exactly! Over the past years, I've explored how you can meditate without actually meditating. Follow me?

Let me explain:

Meditating is training your attention! That's it! Without judgment, without frustration, just noticing what's happening and returning to the moment. Experiencing something consciously, truly living it. Because how unfortunate is it to miss the beautiful moments of life?

Or to not pay attention in that conversation with your best friend because you're watching someone next to you enjoy a delicious piece of cake, wondering if it's vegan.

Sorry, one more time, what did you say?

It's that simple. And that's what we want: simple AND applicable to YOUR life, in YOUR way. Because everyone is different, rigt?

Okay, here's my challenge for you:

Take something you do every day, something you usually do automatically, and do it with your full attention.

For example:

Making coffee. Become aware of every action, the smell, the sound, the warmth of the cup in your hand as you pick it up, the aroma when you hold the cup under your nose, the first sip, the warm liquid flowing into your body. And so on.

Or maybe you have tea in the morning. Or milk or whatever. The idea is to keep your attention in this moment. Instead of thinking about what's waiting for you at work, the laundry you still have to do, quickly eating before you have to leave, or contemplating what you actually want to eat tonight, keep your attention in this moment.

You can also choose something else, like brushing your teeth (feel the brush on your teeth, the taste, the smell, the movement) or doing the dishes (feel the warm water, the smell, the items sliding through your hands) or maybe you walk to work and bring your attention to the walk. Perhaps you consciously do today's work out session and move entirely in the moment feeling every muscle, movement and tendon as you do it.

The goal here is to let you experience that we don't have to sit for hours like a monk to reap the benefits of meditation. The benefits arise as soon as you live more consciously, do things more consciously, and precisely do the things that you always take for granted on autopilot now with your full attention.

Do I have your attention?

Hop on the Awareness Express and find out how you can live more consciously enjoying the ride of life.

Connect with Eddie
Instagram: move.medite
or
If you are in dire need of living in the moment, visit his
website: Zen Caravan

Reply

or to participate.